Wednesday, July 7, 2010

Review - Fever Dream by Preston and Child


For fans of Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child, the announcement of a new Pendergast novel is cause for celebration. The mysterious special agent of many of their novels is a fan favorite. Preston and Child offer another interesting and exciting glimpse into the dark history of Aloysius Pendergast with their new novel "Fever Dream". (Released May 11, 2010)

Synopsis from Amazon:

Yesterday, Special Agent Pendergast still mourned the loss of his beloved wife, Helen, who died in a tragic accident in Africa twelve years ago.


Today, he discovers she was murdered.


Tomorrow, he will learn her most guarded secrets, leaving him to wonder: Who was the woman I married? Why was she murdered? And, above all . . . Who murdered her?


FEVER DREAM


Revenge is not sweet: It is essential.

Right off the bat, I will say that this is not my favorite of the bunch (10 in all). It starts with a premise that is a little far-fetched and stretched a bit thin. However, I am a huge fan of the writing duo, and their weaker entries are stronger than 90% of the current available fiction.


What I love most about this book (and their writing in general) is the pacing. They write with the efficiency of a fast paced action adventure movie. Every chapter bristles with energy and life. The term page-turner exemplifies their writing style. The story never gets bogged-down with unnecessary sub-plots and exposition.


Pendergast is assisted as usual by Lt. Vincent D'Agosta and the addition of Capt. Laura Hayward. Together they tie together a grisly murder, parrots and the works of a famous illustrator.


If that sentence intrigues you, then I encourage you to check out "Fever Dream" and all of the Pendergast novels.

26 comments:

Jamie Gibbs said...

I can't recall the last novel I read that was a good action/adventure in terms of pacing. Most of the stuff I've read is filled with backstory and explanations and maps and such. I think I need to check out a Pendergast novel. Do the novels follow on from each other, or could I pick up any one? What would you recommend?

Alex J. Cavanaugh said...

Jamie, their novels read like screenplays in that you can just see the action unfold as if it were a real film. You can start anywhere, but I recommend The Relic first. Far better than the movie!

welcome to my world of poetry said...

I did send a comment yesterday, I enjoy the review very much and am learning much abour different types of films through your excellent knowledge,

Thanks for your vist and yes I was one of the gnomes on a happy day to remember from my past, It was the last holiday my husband and self had together before he sadly passed away,

Yvonne,

Helen Ginger said...

I've not read any of the Pendergast novels. I think I'll look into them, especially as presents for my husband, but as you rec'd, I'll start with The Relic. (Wasn't that sort of a horror movie?)

Straight From Hel

Mason Canyon said...

I was wondering about this novel. I have it on audio to listen to (unabridged). Is this a stand alone book or will I be missing some things because I haven't read the previous books?

Crystal Clear Proofing said...

This statement alone would prompt me to read this, or any book by the authors:

I am a huge fan of the writing duo, and their weaker entries are stronger than 90% of the current available fiction.

Good review, Alex!

Carol Kilgore said...

Thanks for the review. I haven't read them, but I may now pick up one of the books. BTW, I have something for you at my blog.

DEZMOND said...

I generally don't enjoy detective, mystery and super agent books (weird, yea? coming from a spy), but I do love the suggestive cover of this one. And I also like when novels have a great pace and lots of energy as you mention. Pace and good dynamics are quite rare to find in today's books, since many writers don't pay enough attention to that aspect which actually creates the biggest impression on the readers even if your characters are weak and the plot itself not original. You must never let your readers get bored.

Ted from Prinkipria said...

That sentence does intrigue me. Will definitely check it out! Thanks!

Jemi Fraser said...

Sounds like a good series - thanks for the tip :)

Elana Johnson said...

Great review -- I'll put these on my list.

Alex J. Cavanaugh said...

Helen, it was a movie, and thought it was an okay movie until I read the book and realized they left out the main character - Pendergast!

Mason, you can indeed read it by itself.

Crystal, I was just being honest!

Wise words, Dezz.

Hart Johnson said...

These sound great! Is there an element of fantasy to them, or are they all thriller/mystery types? The TITLES just imply an fantasy element, so I was curious.

Talli Roland said...

I've not heard of this book, but I always appreciate good pacing!

Thanks, Alex.

Raquel Byrnes said...

Parrots and illustrations...yeah, I'm interested. Sounds like a great read. Thanks for the review.

Stephen Tremp said...

lex, I'm a huge fan of the Preston/Child series and stand alone books. Relic is what motivated me to write my own book. I've hooked up with Lee Child on Facebook and hope to do an interview with him soon. Thanks for the review and have a great week.

Stephen Tremp

BStearns said...

Great to hear of another great book Alex! Just a question though, would you be able to direct me to the first book written by them? It sounds really interesting. Also, are these books thrillers at all? I've been looking for a good thriller lately. Thanks Alex, and keep up the great work!

-Bryan
www.sff-hub.com

Karen Lange said...

Hadn't heard of this book. Thanks for sharing the info!

B. Miller said...

Wow, this really sounds like a book I'd enjoy. Thanks for sharing it with us, Alex!!

Alex J. Cavanaugh said...

Hart, they are mystery thrillers with a tinge of horror.

Stephen, I look forward to the interview then!

Bryan, the first with Pendergast is The Relic, and they are indeed thrillers. (Sort of mystery-thriller with a touch of horror.)

N. R. Williams said...

I bet my hubby would like them. I will tell him.
Nancy

arlee bird said...

What a coincidence--not long before I read your post I had just read a newspaper review of the audiobook version. The thing that most caught my eye was the $45 retail list price. It's about half that on Amazon, but still seems expensive to me.

Lee
Tossing It Out

Cheeseboy said...

Not for me, but definitely my wife would love it.

Alex J. Cavanaugh said...

Lee, the audio versions are so expensive - no idea why!

Too tense for Cheeseboy, huh?

Anonymous said...

I like your blog !!Thank you. They are really great .
do not miss my goods , they are very beautiful !!
Yves Saint Laurent
Tory Burch
Christian Louboutin
Men's Shoes
Women's Shoes
New Arrivals

Clarissa Draper said...

Interesting. I don't know that I will read it but I find it interesting that two people wrote it.

CD